Following Government guidance regarding the Covid-19 outbreak, we have taken the decision to postpone our upcoming concert on Sunday 29th March. This is to protect members of the orchestra and audience and to prevent the spread of this disease. At present we do not know when the concert will be rescheduled but we will keep you informed via social media, our newsletter and our website.

Some of our audience have taken the generous decision to donate the value of their ticket to the orchestra. We really appreciate this kind gesture.

If you would like a refund:

  • If you have purchased tickets via they will be in touch with you to organize a refund.
  • If you have purchased a ticket through an orchestra member or soloist please contact them directly to arrange a refund. You must return your ticket in order to be entitled to a refund.

In the event of any queries please contact or call 07814 118468. We are a small team so we ask for your patience as we go through this process.

Conductor  Peter Stallworthy

Leader  Fiona MacDonald

Soloist  Barbara White

  • Ippolitov – Ivanov:  Procession of the Sardar
  • Shostakovich: Piano Concerto No 2
  • Rimsky – Korsakov:  Scheherazade

Music inspired by and composed by survivors of Soviet Russia and a murderous Persian husband. Ippolitov-Ivanov, Shostakovitch and Rimsky Korsakov present snapshots of military might, freedom from tyranny and magical storytelling.

Mikhail Ippolitov-Ivanov, ‘Procession of the Sardar’ (1894)

The Sardar marches through the Turkish town of Zeytun. Noisy crowds press forward to see the Turkish commander before they are repelled by the guards. The final movement of a series of sketches of the Caucasus, now on the borders of Russia, Georgia, Armenia and Azerbaijan, Ippolitov-Ivanov finds inspiration in folk music heard during his directorship of the orchestra of Tbilisi, Georgia.

Dmitri Shostakovitch, ‘Piano Concerto No.2 in F Major’ (1957)

Forced to conform to Soviet culture or risk deportation to the Gulag, Dmitri Shostakovitch struggles to balance political pressure with faith to his own musical inspirations. He survives Stalin’s terror and the siege of Leningrad, composing a piano concerto full of joy and youthful vigour as a present for his son to play on his 19th birthday, 10th May 1957.

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov, ‘Scheherazade’ (1888)

A young Persian woman, Scheherazade, risks her life by standing up to a powerful ruler. She weaves tales of magic and mystery, to captivate her murderous husband so that he keeps her alive simply to hear the end of the story that ends every night on a cliff-hanger. Her stories, the Tales of 1001 Arabian Nights, survive and inspire novels, art, online games and this gorgeous music by Rimsky Korsakov.